Campus Advisory Classes are in session remotely through the end of spring semester and for summer session I. Our satellite centers in Manhattan, Hudson Valley and Suffolk County are closed; however, all staff and units are accessible remotely. Adelphi's Garden City campus is operational with only essential personnel on-site. » COVID-19 Response

Coronavirus Updates on Operations: Department or campus operations may be modified during this time. Please call or email the department for more information or visit



March 7, 2019

2019 Winners of Jonathan Larson Grants Announced, Will Perform at Adelphi

Winners of the 2019 Larson Grants

The American Theatre Wing has announced the 2019 recipients of the prestigious Jonathan Larson Grants: Julia Gytri and Avi Amon (book, music and lyrics), Emily Gardner Xu Hall (book, music and lyrics), Andy Roninson (music and lyrics), and Ben Wexler (music and lyrics). All will receive grants of $10,000, as well as additional support in the form of residencies, concerts and recording grants valued at more than $50,000.

Three of this year’s recipients, Roninson and Gytri and Amon, will be honored at the Adelphi University Performing Arts Center (Adelphi PAC) during its 2019–2020 season with an evening of performance featuring their works as part of the Larson Legacy Concert Series. The series celebrates the next generation of creative artists at the college home of Jonathan Larson ’82 to carry on his legacy.

Jonathan Larson in a production while a student at Adelphi

Jonathan Larson in a production while a student at Adelphi

On Sunday, March 24, 2019, two of the Jonathan Larson Grant winners for 2018, Zoe Sarnak and Emily Kaczmarek, will present songs and scenes from their musicals Afterwords and Afloat, as well as never-before-seen works in process, at the Adelphi PAC. This past fall, another 2018 Larson grant winner, singer and songwriter Jay Adana, performed a concert of pieces from the new musical The Loophole, with her original music and lyrics, based on the book by Zeniba Britt.

The Jonathan Larson Grants are given annually to honor emerging composers, lyricists and book writers to help continue Tony Award-winning composer Jonathan Larson’s dream of infusing musical theater with a contemporary, joyful, urban vitality.

Past recipients of the Larson Grants include Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dear Evan HansenThe Greatest Showman), Dave Malloy (Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812), Amanda Green (Hands on a Hardbody), Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey (Next to Normal), Joe Iconis (Be More Chill), Matt Gould (Witness Uganda), Michael Korie (War PaintGrey Gardens), Shaina Taub (Twelfth Night), Max Vernon (KPOPThe View UpStairs) and Michael R. Jackson (A Strange Loop).

Read more about Larson, and for more information about this year’s Jonathan Larson Grants, see the American Theatre Wing story.


Want to read more stories like this?

More Adelphi News

About Adelphi: A modern metropolitan university with a personalized approach to higher learning

Adelphi University, New York, is a highly awarded, nationally ranked, powerfully connected doctoral research university dedicated to transforming students’ lives through small classes with world-class faculty, hands-on learning and innovative ways to support academic and career success. Adelphi offers exceptional liberal arts and sciences programs and professional training, with particular strength in our Core Four—Arts and Humanities, STEM and Social Sciences, the Business and Education Professions, and Health and Wellness.

Recognized as a Best College by U.S. News & World Report, Adelphi is Long Island’s oldest private coeducational university. It serves almost 8,000 students at its beautiful main campus in Garden City, New York—just 23 miles from New York City’s cultural and internship opportunities—and at dynamic learning hubs in Manhattan, the Hudson Valley and Suffolk County, as well as online. 

More than 116,000 Adelphi graduates have gained the skills to thrive professionally as active, engaged citizens, making their mark on the University, their communities and the world.

For further information, please contact:

Todd Wilson
Strategic Communications Director 
p – 516.237.8634
e –