Campus Advisory Access the latest updates, FAQs, and resources for the Adelphi community on the global coronavirus pandemic. » COVID-19 Updates

Coronavirus Updates on Operations: Department or campus operations may be modified during this time. Please call or email the department for more information or visit



September 4, 2014

Derner Faculty and Students Recognized for Excellence

Faculty and students from the Gordon F. Derner Institute of Advanced Psychological Studies have recently been recognized for their outstanding achievements in research, teaching and service.

Recognition for Derner Faculty in 2014

Dean Jacques P. Barber, Ph.D., was awarded the Distinguished Research Career Award from the Society for Psychotherapy Research (SPR).

Professor Jean Lau Chin, Ed.D., won the American Psychological Association’s 2014 Committee on Women in Psychology Leadership Award.

Professor and Department Chair Francine P. Conway, Ph.D., was invited to join the highly respected APA Leadership Institute for Women in Psychology.  

Professor Mark J. Hilsenroth, Ph.D., won the APA Division 29 (Psychotherapy) Award for Distinguished Contributions to Teaching and Mentoring.

Assistant Professor Katherine L. Fiori, Ph.D., was awarded fellow status in the Behavioral and Social Sciences Section of the Gerontological Society of America.

Recognition for Derner Doctoral Students in 2014

Sarah Georgianna won the Enrico E. Jones Award from the Society for Psychotherapy Research for her paper, ”Most Helpful Interventions for Eating Disorders.”  (Adviser: Professor Rebecca C. Curtis, Ph.D.)

Rachel Goldman won the Derner Institute of Advanced Psychological Studies’ George Stricker Award. (Adviser: Professor Mark J. Hilsenroth, Ph.D.)

Nadia Kuprian earned the Kenneth I. Howard Award from the Society for Psychotherapy Research for her work, “Could the TV Series “In Treatment” be an Example of Modern Psychotherapy Integration?” (Adviser:  Dean Jacques P. Barber, Ph.D.)

Olivia Medvedow was awarded $500 for her poster presentation at the New York State Psychological Association’s (NYSPA) Annual Conference on May 31, 2014 (Adviser: Professor Lawrence Josephs, Ph.D.)

Jackson J. Taylor won the Diversity Student Paper Awards from APA Division 29 (Psychotherapy) for “From a Linear Match Equation to the Intersubjective Sphere: Negotiating Identities of the Sexual Kind.” He also won the Sanger Foundation Dissertation Research Award. (Adviser: Associate Dean and Professor J. Christopher Muran, Ph.D.)

Recognition for Derner Master’s Students in 2014

Martina Robotham was awarded $500 for her poster presentation at NYSPA’s Annual Conference on May 31, 2014 (completing master’s thesis under Professor Michael A. O’Loughlin, Ph.D.)

More Adelphi News

About Adelphi: A modern metropolitan university with a personalized approach to higher learning

Adelphi University, New York, is a highly awarded, nationally ranked, powerfully connected doctoral research university dedicated to transforming students’ lives through small classes with world-class faculty, hands-on learning and innovative ways to support academic and career success. Adelphi offers exceptional liberal arts and sciences programs and professional training, with particular strength in our Core Four—Arts and Humanities, STEM and Social Sciences, the Business and Education Professions, and Health and Wellness.

Recognized as a Best College by U.S. News & World Report, Adelphi is Long Island’s oldest private coeducational university. It serves almost 8,000 students at its beautiful main campus in Garden City, New York—just 23 miles from New York City’s cultural and internship opportunities—and at dynamic learning hubs in Manhattan, the Hudson Valley and Suffolk County, as well as online. 

More than 116,000 Adelphi graduates have gained the skills to thrive professionally as active, engaged citizens, making their mark on the University, their communities and the world.

For further information, please contact:

Todd Wilson
Strategic Communications Director 
p – 516.237.8634
e –